You are viewing this site in staging mode. Click in this bar to return to normal site.

St Margaret's primary reading corner

Help your child develop a love of reading

Reading is an important part of your child's development and transition into adulthood. We at St Margaret's hope to engage your child in reading through a variety of materials over their time with us and encourage parents to do the same at home. 

Here you can find our Book of the Week feature (at the bottom of this page or click here), with a host of book reviews and recommendations from an independent book store in Hove and in the future we will also be posting some reviews written by our very own children. 

Also featured is our "Staff Favourites", videos of our team members discussing their favourite children's books! All are available at the school library for your child to enjoy. 

Libraries Week! October 4th - 10th 2021

 

The List of Things That Will Not Change

The Book Nook, Hove
24 November 2020 15:39

By Rebecca Stead

When Bea’s dad and his wonderful partner, Jesse, decide to marry, it looks as if Bea’s biggest wish is coming true: she’s finally (finally!) going to have a sister. They’re both ten. They’re both in fifth grade. Though they’ve never met, Bea knows that she and Sonia will be perfect sisters. Just like sisters anywhere, Bea thinks. But as the wedding day approaches, Bea makes discoveries that lead her to a possibly disastrous choice.

And that is how we meet Milton the house spider. Utterly un-terrifying and occasionally mistaken for a raisin, Milton discovers he’s been branded deadly. Alongside his buddies, big hairy Ralph and daddy-long-legs Audrey, he decides to clear his name. But to succeed, Milton must befriend his house human, Zoe. Is Milton mighty enough to achieve the impossible?

About the book

Perfect for fans of Jacqueline Wilson, this is a heartfelt and beautifully positive feel-good family drama about learning to be kind to yourself amid the ups and downs of life.

Bea is a wonderful creation. Written with an honesty that embraces a young teen’s big emotions, Bea is a fully believable and immensely loveable character. We were rooting for her from the start; following her journey and hiding behind our cushions as she made mistakes and walked head first into trouble.

Told retrospectively, and with a brilliant supporting cast of family and friends, we watch as Bea navigates her parents’ divorce and her dad’s new relationship with Jesse. Rebecca Stead writes with a brightness that lifts the characters from the page and colours their anxieties, jealousies, hopes and fears. Every emotion and injustice is haloed with intensity, as if felt for the first time by a young teenager learning to understand the new world she finds herself in.

A heartfelt and intimate celebration of love, families and friendship, this is a must read for those looking for honesty, positivity and happy endings. Perfect for 9+.

You can get your copy here.

Review reproduced by permission from The Book Nook

To purchase a copy please see The Book Nook website HERE